Notifications for PayPal transactions

Before you begin testing, we recommend that you contact our Support Team and request that rules are enabled on your account, which submit URL notifications to your system in the following scenarios:

  • When a payment is authorised.
  • When funds have been settled into your account.

 

Configuring the authorisation notification

We recommend including at least the following fields in URL notifications sent on authorisation:

  • Auth Code (authcode)
  • Base Amount (baseamount) (e.g. £10.50 is “1050”)*
  • Main Amount (mainamount) (e.g. £10.50 is “10.50”)*
  • Billing Country (billingcountryiso2a)
  • Currency (currencyiso3a)
  • Error Code (errorcode)
  • Live Status (livestatus)
  • Order Reference (orderreference)
  • Payment Type (paymenttypedescription)
  • PayPal Email (paypalemail)
  • PayPal Payer ID (paypalpayerid)
  • Request Type (requesttypedescription)
  • Settle Status (settlestatus)
  • Site Reference (sitereference)
  • Transaction Reference (transactionreference)
  • Transaction Started Timestamp (transactionstartedtimestamp)

*Please choose your preferred format.

 

Configuring the settlement notification

We recommend including the following fields in URL notifications sent on settlement:

  • Settle Status (settlestatus)
  • Site Reference (sitereference)
  • Transaction Reference (transactionreference)

 

Check the notification

You will need to check the contents of each notification received and respond accordingly by following the processes outlined in our URL notifications documentation. In particular, you will need to look at the updated settlestatus value:

  • On authorisation: If the settlestatus is “0”, “1” or “10”, the payment has been authorised and you are not required to take further action at this time. However, values of “2” or “3” indicate funds are not scheduled for settlement (suspended and cancelled, respectively).
  • On settlement: If the settlestatus has been updated to “100”, this indicates that the funds have been settled into your account. Alternatively, if this has been updated to “3”, this indicates there has been a problem and the payment was subsequently cancelled.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request